Communities formed by Video Games

destiny1

This blog post about a semester research project for my my social media technology class: Communities formed by Video Games. I find this topic very interesting as I myself got connected to people I don’t know or have in a way that I have never expected. The video game that I will be primarily focusing on is Destiny. Destiny is an online-only first-person shooter video game developed by Bungie and published by Activision.

3130450-feature_destinyriseofirontipstogetyouready_20160916site

Why I made this game the focus of this topic is because of the social expects that the game encourages or should I say “forced” the players to interact with other players in order to complete a mission or in the term that the game used: a raid. So for this research, I will be focusing on the communities of the game, what have the communities have done in the name of the game, and how the game developer’s view/interact with these communities.

Here a link of how some of players behave in a way. When getting the most powerful weapon in the game.

 

Leave a comment